The Ending of a Job and the Formation of a Personal Philosophy

Although it’s officially been 5 days since hearing the news, I am still in disbelief – I no longer work for Career Point College. On Monday, I received a call from my boss informing me that the Department of Education rightfully shut down the College and while I was in shock at the time I can’t say that I’m completely surprised. 

About a month into my job I noticed many improvements that needed to be made and many red flags such as no dedicated library budget, dwindling resources, and increased student complaints about administration. With all of these factors in the back of my mind I was certainly suspicious and already looking into other positions in fear of something going wrong, but I was hesitant since I had only started the position and didn’t want future employers to view me as disloyal or inconsistent. Needless to say, CPC beat me to the punch and locked its doors leaving all students and employees without degrees, without their personal belongings, without their last paycheck, without a description of further steps, and of course jobless. 

Based on this horrible experience, I’ve come to form my own personal librarian philosophy, expectations, and ethics I will hold, embody, and add onto when I one day become the Dean of a University library.

  • Treat all entities within the campus community with respect, kindness, and consideration. 
  • Never fail to provide freedom of knowledge. 
  • Always be honest regardless of the outcome and reward honesty from others.
  • Understand that there’s always room for improvement and never cease to improve for the sake of student and community growth. 
  • Always listen and serve the community regardless of the possible difficulties behind it because once we stop listening and serving them we’ve failed. 
  • Always provide, encourage, and train others in impeccable and considerate communication skills.

I’m sure this personal philosophy will increase and improve over time so consider it a starting point I may reference throughout my library career. 

Even though I am bummed out about being unemployed at the moment and saddened by the situation this puts the students who attended CPC in, I must admit that I am happy to see that these students now have the opportunity to be treated with the proper level of care, respect, professionalism and intelligence they’ve deserved throughout their entire educational career. 

It was certainly an honor getting to know so many hardworking, strong, and driven students and I am so grateful for them allowing me to teach them something knew and cheer them on throughout their CPC endeavors. While many of them shared how much I’ve impacted them I can only hope they fully understand how they’ve impacted my life in such a profound way.  

There are so many more things I want to say to the students I’ve come to know, help, and learn from as well as so many feelings I wish to share with the community who have also lost their jobs, but I’ll conclude this post with some quotes that capture my sentiments better than I can express them: 

“The secret of change is to focus all of your energy not on fighting the old, but on building the new” – Socrates

“Never give up on what you really want to do. The person with big dreams is more powerful than one with all the facts.” -Albert Einstein

“To move the world we must move ourselves” – Socrates

Leave a Reply

