That’s a Wrap! – An overview of my first year as a LIS student

Me

What can I say? I don’t think I could have had a better year as a LIS grad student. Not only did I learn a tremendous amount through my Professors and course content, but I also engaged in many priceless, meaningful experiences – and at a distance too!

I must admit, I don’t think I’ve ever felt more empowered, confident, and persistent as I do completing the first year of my MLS program. In the past school has always been important to me but due to unfortunate family circumstances and some deficiencies I never felt as if I met my full potential, that is until now.

Accomplishments:

  • 2016 – 2017 ALA GLISA President
  • Hosted a webinar series for my TWU SLIS peers
  • Networked like CRAZY! (My collaboration with ALA President Julie Todaro will forever be one of my favorite moments in the library field)
  • 2017 ALA Student to Staff Winner
  • 2017 COPE Student Award for Outstanding Service to Students
  • 2017 Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges
  • 4.0 GPA in the Fall (still awaiting grades for the Spring)
  • Received two (that’s right, two!) positions as a One Person Librarian

Goals:

  • Stay active in library leadership!
  • Network with current and potential library leaders
  • Apply for scholarships
  • Apply for mentorships
    • LLAMA Mentorship here I come!
  • Master time management and organization
  • Improve the number of posts on The Burgeoning Bibliothec and begin forming your expertise.

Taking the leap and getting my Master’s was initially one of the most intimidating things I’ve ever signed up for and although I spent a year with little sleep and time for personal activities there was still an unwavering excitement to take on a new challenge. Cheers to completing the first year of grad school, I can’t wait to see what the next academic year will bring!

“It’s not that I’m so smart, I just stay with problems longer” – Albert Einstein

 

Leave a Reply

